2007 Cattle Industry Annual Convention & Trade Show Coverage by Angus Productions Inc.—www.4cattlemen.com

Awards Lunch

Outstanding leadership honored at luncheon.

by **Mathew Elliott**

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (Feb. 3, 2007) — National Cattlemen's Beef Association (NCBA) Vice President Paul Hitch welcomed cattlemen to the 2007 NCBA awards luncheon Saturday, Feb. 3. The annual luncheon honors Top Hand Club members for their recruitment efforts, as well as various young industry leaders.

Top Hand. The Top Hand Club was created in 1982 to recognize members who give of their time and effort to increase membership and strengthen the NCBA organization. Members earn Top Hand Club status by recruiting at least three members within the past year. For their efforts, they earn incentives ranging from apparel to convention packages, made possible by sponsorship from John Deere.

The top two membership recruiters for 2006 were recognized at Saturday's awards

luncheon. This year's top award went to David Fitzpatrick, Winchester, Ky. Fitzpatrick recruited 72 new members. This is the fifth time he has won the award.

Dale Lueck, Aitkin, Minn., was the runner-up, recruiting 52 new members.

Quiz Bowl. The 2007 National Collegiate Beef Quiz Bowl is a joint program of the American Society of Animal Science (ASAS) and the National Cattlemen's Foundation (NCF). Teams earned the privilege of competing Feb. 2 in the national finals by winning the Academic Quadrathalon at their ASAS sectional meeting. The four regional winners qualifying to compete at this year's convention were Michigan State, Penn State, Texas A&M and Utah State.

This year's national winner is Penn State.
Team members included Debbie McAlister,



►Ben Williams, Logansport, Ind., was the national winner of the Beef Industry Scholarship Program.



► Matt Perrier, Dalebanks Angus Ranch, won the Max Deets Scholarship Program Award



▶Penn State University won the 2007 National Collegiate Beef Quiz Bowl.



Editor's Note: This article was written under contract or by staff of Angus Productions Inc. (API), which claims copyright to this material. It may not be published or distributed without the express permission of Angus Productions Inc. (API). To request reprint permission and guidelines, contact Shauna Rose Hermel, editor, at (816) 383-5270 or shermel@angusjournal.com.

Awards Lunch continued

Ben Cloninger, Kyle Grim and Douglas Sattazahan. Dan Kniffen served as team advisor.

Scholarship. The Beef Industry Scholarship Program recognizes outstanding youth in the beef community. Out of nearly 200 applicants, twenty \$1,500 scholarships sponsored by the Chicago Mercantile Exchange Inc. (CME) and NCF were presented this year.

This year's national scholarship winner is Ben Williams of Logansport, Ind. Along with the scholarship, Ben received an all-expense paid trip to the convention. He is a student at Kansas State University.

YCC chairman. Each year, participants in the Young Cattlemen's Conference (YCC) select from among their ranks an individual who demonstrates outstanding leadership to chair the following year's weeklong tour. Established by the Kansas Livestock Association and the NCBA in honor of 1997 NCBA President Max Deets, the Max Deets Scholarship Program awards a scholarship to

that individual to attend the following year's tour

Matt Perrier of Dalebanks Angus Ranch, Eureka, Kan., is this year's winner.

The lunch program concluded with "John Beardsley's Tribute to the King Through the Years." Taking advantage of being in "Music City," Beardsley entertained the lunch crowd with his portrayals of Elvis Presley throughout his career.

ΑŢ

